Ad Disclosure: We earn referral fees from advertisers. Learn More

Alleviate Financial Solutions Review: Debt Consolidation Loans

If you’re like many Americans, you may be struggling with debt. You may be looking for a way to get out from under the weight of your bills, and debt relief solutions seem like the answer. But be careful – not all debt relief solutions are created equal. Some companies are scam artists, preying on people who are struggling.

One company that you should be careful with and do your due dillgence on is Alleviate Financial Solutions. Based on the many online complaints, it seems Alleviate Financial Solutions sometimes promise to help you get out of debt, but all they do is make your situation worse. Some say that they prey on people who are desperate and vulnerable, and they will not help you.

Is Alleviate Financial Solutions a legitimate company? Alleviate Financial Solutions is a debt relief company that has been in business for over 10 years. They offer debt consolidation, debt settlement, and debt management services. So, is Alleviate Financial Solutions a scam or legit? Let’s take a look at their services and see what customers have to say about them.

And off you go looking for reviews. 

Is Alleviate Financial Solutions a Scam?

Crixeo.com awarded Alleviate Financial Solutions a 2-star rating (data collected and updated as of February 24, 2022). We hope the information below will help you make an educated decision on whether to do business with Alleviate Financial Solutions.

Alleviate Financial Solutions is a debt relief company that promises to help people get out of debt. But is it a scam?

There are some red flags that suggest Alleviate may not be legitimate. For one, the company has been accused of charging high fees for services that rarely deliver results. One thing to watch out for when considering debt relief is the fees that companies charge. Alleviate Financial Solutions, like many other debt relief companies, charges a fee for their services. This can be expensive, so it’s important to make sure you understand what you’re getting into before you sign up.

If you’re considering working with Alleviate Financial Solutions, be sure to do your research first. Read reviews from past clients and see if there are any complaints about the company. If you can’t find any information online, it’s probably best to steer clear.

There are plenty of reputable debt relief companies out there, so you don’t have to risk your money with a company that may be a scam. Do your research and choose a company that has a good track record and is accredited by the BBB.

Is Alleviate Financial Solutions A Scam or Legit? 2
Get Debt Free

Alleviate Financial Solutions BBB Reviews and Ratings

Alleviate Financial Solutions does have an A+ rating with the BBB but something doesn’t feel right. They have 33 complaints with the Better Business Bureau as of today’s date:

02/08/2022I enrolled in Alleviate Financial Solutions debt relief program. In my signed paperwork I was advised that their fees would be 27% of my enrolled debt. The only information provided to me regarding the enrolled debt amount and fees taken is through a 3rd party (Debt Pay Gateway). I am nearing the end of the program and requested a pay off amount. The amount quoted in fees far exceeds the 27% and they will not provide anything in writing to show me how the pay off was calculated or total fees that were owed. When I called to question the pay off amount, their customer service rep ******** was very rude and denied my request to speak with the estimator and rudely said the amount is correct, like I had no right to question it. I asked to see the calculation in writing which she again denied. I asked to speak to a supervisor and “no one available”. Their lack of transparency on the fee structure or how it is calculated should be a criminal offense. It is as though they can arbitrarily apply whatever fees they wish and it seems they keep moving the goal posts for program completion.

02/03/2022I was told that they would contact my creditors and negotiate on my behalf for 0% interest on each of my accounts so that the payments I made through them would go straight to the principle and that way all of my debt would be paid off within 48 months. They told me it would take 2 to 3 months to negotiate settlements with all of my creditors. I signed up with them 09/01/2021. They have only negotiated with one of my creditors and then the settlement was not 0% interest, but instead I am paying back only about 55% of that debt in 3 equal payments. I agreed to that settlement, however they did not tell me that they were going to take $905 out of my account when they took the first settlement payment out of my account. If I had known they were going to take that much money for negotiating with my creditor, I never would have signed up with them in the first place! I asked about their fees prior to signing up. I was told that the only fees were a small monthly service fee to manage my account. My statements each month show a $9.95 service fee, so I thought that was the only extra amount they were taking out of my account. Then when I saw my January 2022 statement, an additional fee of $905 was taken out of my account with no explanation as to what that fee was for. Also I looked at my upcoming transactions and I see that another settlement payment and fees are scheduled to come out on 0204/2022, but the amounts for the payments and fees are not listed. According to my calculations based on what was in my account as of 02/02/2022 and the $0 balance as of today, 02/03/2022 they had to have taken out the second settlement payment and a fee of $469.51!!! I feel that I have been mislead about how this is supposed to work. I am very dissatisfied with the way I have been treated. I have paid into this account for 5 months and so far they have only negotiated with one of my creditors!! Also I was not told about these exorbitant fees!

This company sent a letter to Discover Credit card company saying they were working with me for debt consolidation effectively closing my account with discover. The issue is I AM NOT nor have I ever worked with Alleviate. I have called Alleviate and they say theres nothing they can do for me even though this is 100% their mistake. All I need is something in writing saying they are not representing me and they will not provide it. I want them to resolve the issue for me with discover

10/26/2021Gentlemen: I requested “Alliviate Financial Service” their service in reducing my debt with the 3 companies.due to I had car accident then I couldn’t afford my obligation with these 3 companies.1.- Discovery my debt was $9.000 they will reduce to in 50% 2.-***** ********** my debt was $9,200 they will reduce 42%3.- Master Charge my debt was $6,000 they did not do any suppose to be another 50% of reduction the problem is when we agreed at the beginning the total debt was $24.454.- I agree to pay them $****** until the payment is completed more or less $******. but now they want me to pay additional $70.– more on top of ****** hey said that they do not have enough.I been paying $****** since May 2021 until now. This will help you to understand my request: Discover suppose to be paid $ ***** ***** ********** ***** Master Charge ***** _______ Total 1 ***** Plus 25% Alliviate Fees 6.1 13 ______ Total to be paid by me $ ****** instead of $ ****** **** They want me to pay more, plus court and legal fees…I believe they have agreement with Discover Card, but no with the others. my question is shall I stop making the payment, can I request the money back?I would appreciate your help in this matter.Sincerely,********************************* email: ************************** Tel ************ Cell PS: If it is possible to talk by phone I can explain more,

09/20/2021Per the phone conversation I have had with Alleviate, I decided to cancel this transaction between us because no updates were being given. I put in $746 and on the day of cancelation, I say that $599 had been used in legal fees but was never update on these fees at all. Money had just been taken out. I called on numerous occasions and why am I need getting updates on what the legal fees are pertaining to but got no answer. I got the run around about what they are using this money for but still got no answer. I want my full refund of $746 and based on the legal fees that were taken out without updates, I expect to get only $200 back and that is unacceptable. I didn’t pay for people to sit on their **** while my credit drains to a score in which I cannot do anything. Especially if an emergency happens. I was told for a small fee that it would be direct deposited and should see my money within Monday and that has not happened either.

I had responded via call and asked why I wouldn’t get the funds into my account as requested on friday and had no answer. The only thing this company told me is they couldn’t issue the transfer because they sent out a check on Monday instead of *** debiting the funds back into my account which is NOT what was discussed on Friday’s conversation when I canceled the service. How hard is it to void a check, even though it is through the mail, and just do the *** transaction? This is completely unacceptable and wish further investigation be made into this company.

08/27/2021I started with Alliviate Finnancial Solution within the last three years trying to pay off my credit card ***** I tried to pay off the **** the last three years. I am still trying to pay but they are still telling me I still have the same amout that I started with to off.

07/13/2021Hello. I am writing to retract my complaint against Alleviate Financial Solutions. The mistake made by Alleviate was corrected, and I am to be paid the $2900.00, that was originally unauthorized, back in full. I am very grateful for this. Signed, *******

06/21/2021Because of the pandemic I got into financial trouble with my credit cards. Because I wanted to get out of debt and try to give back to the card company, I contacted tri-point debt consolidation. From the very beginning, I was lied to about how the program worked. I was led to believe that my case would be worked on from day one and now I am told it would be 48 months. Why would I have gone with this company if I would have paid off my debt in that time with out their help. So finding out I was lied to I cancelled my contract and requested a refund since they did absolutly nothing to help me. They kept the interest on the money I already sent and also $299 attny fees (who did nothing)and $39.99 for attny monthly fee (for doing nothing) Now they said they would send me a hard copy of the contract, which they did not do before, and which I told the agent who was walking me through it that I had trouble with the online part. they made thing worse rather than better.

06/09/2021I thought they were legit. They are a supposed debt management company. So far they have not sent any documentation nor the promised monthly statements.Their debt management web site will not let me access my info. Their are previous similar complaints

05/17/2021I had canceled my program with this company back on April the 26th.I was in the program for about a month and my monthly payment was $647.00.I had saw the BBB report on the company of all the complaints that they have had.I didnt feel right about going forward with this program so I decided to cancel.On April 30th they told me they had sent my refund out in the mail.They took my first payment out of my checking account and I asked why didnt they just put it back in my checking account ACH.They didnt give me an answer they said it will be 7 to 10 business days when I get it.Here it is May 17th no refund

05/09/2021I had a balance of $2,133.34 when I closed my account with Alleviate. They took $6 with no trail of that whatsoever. Then today (May 9th) they took $2,127.34 and paid themselves with it, but they claimed per the transactions that they paid one of my creditors; which is 100% false. None of that money went to my creditor at all. So not only did they take money that was suppose to be legally refunded to me, but they also falsified where that money went. They also received $632.68 from May 2020, to January 2021and didn’t pay any creditors at all until January. That’s $5,061.44 completely UNACCOUNTED for! I want my money back, period.

04/13/2021I started using their service back in October of 2020. I was promised they could help me with my bills and set up a plan to pay things off while still saving money. I have sent them around 3k dollars. I was told numerous times that they were negotiating with companies when they actually weren’t. About a month ago they said they started with 3 of my creditors. They said 7-10 business days they should respond. Nothing yet. I have reached out 4 times in a week. Nothing. It takes me almost coming threw my phone to get anything from them. All I get is I’m sorry. Sorry doesn’t cut it after 8 months.

04/06/2021I signed up with Alleviate Financial Solutions on 3/18/21 for debt relief. I made a payment of $536.06 on March 25, 2021 to Alleviate Financial Solutions and expected that they would go ahead and start the process of making arrangements with theCredit Card Companies, however, to date I am still receiving bills from the credit card companies that show no payments or arrangements to start any negotiations to lower the amount I owe. In fact the credit card companies are saying I am late with my payments and charging late fees.

02/19/2021This alleged debt relief company stole my money and misled me. I requested quotes to pay off my debt and was given the amounts. Once I paid these amounts, they kept taking money out of my bank account. When I ask why, I’m told someone has to get back to me and no one does. I’ve spoken to supervisors and managers and they all pretend to understand and promise a phone call and or resolution and I get nothing. They are a bunch of cowards who did nothing for me that I couldn’t do myself, which is fine but to take my money is not OK. They tried to tell me it was some kind of fee but when I argued about previous conversations and ask them to pull the calls, they tell me they will and then never get back to me.

03/08/2021After reviewing the client’s concern in regard to any additional charges from her savings account after she had already provided funds for early payoffs on two accounts. She has been clarified by a supervisor in regard to her charges and amount that was paid off. Client was not happy and decided to cancel, she was advised that she would be getting her current remaining savings ($503.79) refunded to her, however, she still had pending Earned performance fees that she owed, thus, only $108.00 was refunded. Overall, the fees charged are valid; the client enrolled 5 accounts and 4 were settled and paid in full.

02/16/2021I signed with Alleviate Financial Solutions due to financial hardship and wanted to resolve my debt issues. They promised to work on my behalf speak to creditors and negotiate a payment. Told me my debts would be paid within 48 to 26 months. I pay them 805.00 monthly. I was advised by them not to answers creditor phone calls nor make payments. They would contact creditor and work with them. As of today. All creditors on the enrolled in the debt relief program keep calling me. Despite telling them that I’m enrolled with Alleviate and providing a copy of the POA creditors claim that Alleviate has not contacted them at all. In fact I’ve emailed Alleviate every correspondence received and asked to get a call back and never do. I’ve called them only to be put on hold for 40 minutes and customer service rep never taking the call. Most of the times I get a recording claims all reps are “busy at the moment”. I have begged via email for someone to call me. I did finally speak to a Lynette S****** she told me she would personally help me. She asked that I resend any paperwork I had sent and never heard from her. I was also advised by Alleviate to stop making payments to creditors who originally did not qualify for the debt relief program. Only way those creditors would qualify was to let those accounts go into collections or charge off. Then I could add them to the program. So after not making payments to those accounts for well over 5 months and receiving collections letters Allivate is not responding to my multiple request to add these creditors to the debt relief program. I told Alleviate that I was a federal employee and held a clearance and that I needed to make sure that my debts were all added to the program so I can mitigate my financial situation. Alleviate sent me a document several days ago requiring my electronic signature stating that they are not responsible for any adverse action ref my security clearance. Alleviate sold false advertising.

01/22/2021Was contacted by mail from *** ***** ******* about consolidating our unsecured debt, they connected me with **** the said was from Alleviate he took personal information agreed to call back the next day between noon and 1 pm to finish the process, no return call was made. Will be reporting this to the *** ***** ********

01/19/2021Performance, honest communication, transparent information. I have no reference docs to look at. The loan I was told I can get after 6months of on-time payments was denied twice, probably because they submitted it twice to the same lender 3 months apart, they were unaware of that even happening until I insisted they check it out. Horrible communication when asked for any vital information, a return call from the correct department. I was able to finally get some pertinent information out of one male ******** loan amount they were trying to submit was for ******, my total debt from actual offers is about ******. Also the amount of commission their trying to collect is 27% of the original said amount which was 36k = just under 10k! I already paid in over 7k in monthly installments of $590. My concern is if I cancel the program and Alleviate keeps the 6-7k in the account and not pay/disburse to WF and ******* which are the only 2 creditors that are currently being paid from it right now. Another ****k will satisfy the other 4 creditors. That being said a 20k loan is enough to pay the rest of the debt and their ridiculous comm but I think their Double Dipping and taking 27% of everything coming instead of 27% of all the debt paid out which would be more like $5,000. I have never got a call back from the same rep I spoke with always another member that has no idea of whats going on with my account. They must have Notes at least but always repeating the same thing with no resolve. I’ve had enough they are a very loosely run company and I’m pretty sure it’s by design. It’s very important to me to get these financial issues corrected to that I can improve my credit and refinance my mortgage which was the goal in the first place. This outfit is hindering that outcome. Please contact me if you need any additional information and also I apologize in advance for using all but 89 characters.

03/18/2020Upon my initial contact with this company on February 28, 2020, after that point I decided I didn’t want to be enrolled in their debt settlement program and I submitted my cancellation request online on March 2, 2020 (the deadline to submit was midnight, March 4, 2020). The deduction for the monthly debt settlement program was to occur on March 5, 2020. However, when I inspected my checking account online, the fee was deducted from my checking account on March 6, 2020. I immediately called this company and told them I submitted the cancellation request on March 2, 2020, two days ahead of the deadline to cancel. They told me I would get the refund back into my checking account in 7 days. It has been nearly 2 weeks and I still have not receive the refund showing up in my checking account. I am left stranded with very little funds in my checking account at the present time because I have health problems that need attention by my medical provider. I am thoroughly frustrated and upset over this.

03/22/2020As of March 22, 2020 I have not received the check by mail.  Furthermore, it would be more prudent if the refund be submitted electronically to my checking account, by ACH deposit so that I can take care of my health issues.  At this time, assuming my health issues do not deteriorate further, I guess I would have to wait until I receive the check by mail and then deposit it into my checking account.  After that point, I would have wait 5-10 business days to see if the check clears without any delay.  I cannot give this company a positive review due to the lack of propriety when dealing with refund issues.

03/16/2020I regret believing the good reviews on your BBB website (which I checked beforehand). Their recent actions, in my case, are deplorable. I signed contract on 2/28/2020 (9pm on a Friday night), via phone with a representative of Alleviate Financial Solutions (4 Park Plz Ste 1450, Irvine, CA 92614-8608). Within 24 hours, as was my right, I notified the company that I wanted to cancel the contract, BEFORE it even began. I notified them via email, and I called my representative, Evan (on Saturday, the 29th, but he didn’t return my call until Monday, March 2), and I mailed a certified letter (which I have a signed receipt for) on Monday, March 2, 2020. Enclosed with my certified letter, I stated that I wished to cancel my contract, that I did not wish for them to negotiate a debt settlement on my behalf and that I did not wish to make the first payment on March 11. I also signed, dated and enclosed the two copies of Notice of Cancellation, from their service contract. The first line of which states: YOU MAY CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION, WITHOUT ANY PENALTY OR OBLIGATION, WITHIN THREE BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE ABOVE DATE. (2/28/2020) And I followed their further instructions: TO CANCEL THIS TRANSACTION, MAIL OR DELIVER A SIGNED AND DATED COPY OF THIS CANCELLATION NOTICE OR ANY OTHER WRITTEN NOTICE, OR SEND A TELEGRAM, TO: Alleviate Financial Solutions LLC.?Address: 92 Corporate Park #C-407, Irvine CA 92606 Email: [email protected]?not later than midnight of March 04, 2020 Since I did all this, the contract was NOT to be made effective. Yet DebtPay Gateway initiated a transfer from my bank account anyway (3/11), over-drafting my account. I received an insufficient funds notice and I have had to spend time, energy and money cleaning up the mess. I am very disappointed and concerned that they will continue, in the future. This is NOT the behavior of an ethical company or representative. They come across as trying to help, but in the end, are not honorable.

03/04/2020when I signed up I was informed that my credit would drop for 2 months due to not paying creditors but in 6 months it would jump back up. I was also told that this would happen due to after 6 consecutive payments, I would have a loan to cover the pay off of all the creditors they were negotiating with. 8 months into the program, 3 of the 4 accounts were charged off and sold to other collection agencies and none of the 3 had even been worked on by alleviate. I would call throughout the duration of the program and question it, and would not get any answers but “we will have someone call you back” which NEVER happened. once I decided to cancel the program, I was informed that I would be getting a refund and in 2 days they would know the amount of my refund. 2 days later I called and was told it would be 3-5 more days before they knew. a day later I called and was told I was not getting a refund due to their “collection fees”. I paid in $3,556.56 to the program and was told that I would not get a refund due to the $2,262.25 in collection fees. the ONLY creditor that they negotiated with was for $9,049 and I paid in $3,556.56 to be told that now since I cancelled the program the original debt would revert back to me. meaning I paid them to do ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

03/22/2020there is no solution they have presented, go back to your phone recordings and verify if everything I have stated is true and you will find that it is true. I will not accept anything less than being reimbursed and/or my credit being restored. 

02/18/2020My complaint is not just the nature of refund/exchange. It’s also guarantee and service issues. Alleviate Financial Solutions, AKA Tripoint Debt Resolution contacted me offering their debt settlement services for two debts that I have. I asked many questions and later found their answers were not correct. I was required to Docusign the contract while they were on the phone, and initial the other pages. They guaranteed that I would be completely satisfied with their services and I could cancel at any time, and get my money back. I agreed to the amount they came up with monthly for $388.90, which went into my escrow account. . He said that their fees were minimal and never ever mentioned that I would be charged $4,297.00, for settling the two accounts.There is no way I would have agreed. The $9.75 monthly fee and interest was fair. It would have taken an attorney to understand how they were deceiving me out of a considerable amount of money, and later not following through on their end, which was to start negotiating with the two companies that I have debts with. As the months went by, I called several times and only spoke with their C.S.R’s. After two months with no efforts to negotiate I called them only to be told “be patient.” Funds were deducted from my account starting July 5, 2019 and as of January my balance with the two companies I owed was the same. Please note that I later found that their CSR lied when I called about my Citibank Mastercard Debt last Nov.Their CSR informed me that they had succeeded in reducing my balance owed by 50%. As time passed I sought assistance from professionals in this field as things seem suspicious. I was informed, that I had been seriously taken. When I called to cancel in Jan. the CSR said,”we were just about to negotiate your Citbank bank balance.” Shocked, I replied, “I was told by your colleague that it was already negociated in November.” The CSR I spoke with in Nov., had all of my information, so why would he lie?

01/16/2020I had to cancel my program base on the fact of my hardship situation, I entered the debt consolidation program and actually did make my first payment as requested, for the amount of $969.54 on December 30,2019. Based that my financial programs actually increased I spoke to my lawyer and had no choice then to file for Bankruptcy Chapter 7. My lawyer advised me to cancel the program and request the refund, which I did, I called and spoke to a few agents, and they cancel my subscription to the program and even advised I will be refunded. A few days later passed on today 01/16/2020 I explained myself over 10 times, my mistake I provided the wrong account number for the refund, A CSA called Daisy was not helpful at all, if leadership reads it please QA that call, I explained to her the problem that the money was sent to the wrong account, her response was you need to resolve it, go to the bank, and tell them that. I was completely amused with her response and lack of acknowledge. I requested to speak to her lead, and she indicated no leads are available in that department. After that she puts me on a long hold till call drops, after that I spoke to another agent and that agent advised me as well to reach out to Chase Bank, these agents gave me trace number and account where funds were deposited in. I called Chase back and their response was that Alleviate has to request to cancellation and funds will be sent back to Alleviate. I called back to Alleviate and no resolution what so ever, no one could provide a response, all what they said someone will call you.

10/11/2019I contacted TriPoint Lending and debt services, I was transferred over to Alleviate Financial Solutions, I spoke with Greg W*****, I explained that I was already with a Debt relief company, Greg told me that if I signed up with Alleviate Financial Solutions I could get a loan after 4 or 5 months and I could start rebuilding my credit, I even had to borrow money as they debited my account while National was still taking out the payments, I was told by Greg I needed to sign up right away and they could hold their payment off ( which they didn’t) When I was with National Credit I had to pay an 18% fee on accounts they settled, at Alleviate Financial Solutions they were charging 21% but I was assured that I could get this loan and the finance charges would be at 21% but while paying on the loan I could be rebuilding my credit. Well after 6 months of making my payments I applied for the loan, I’m told it will be at least 24 months before I could get the loan I was assured of, They are just playing a game to sign you up with any lie they can come up with.


Why Do We Focus On Alleviate Financial Solutions’ Negative Reviews?

We urge you to do your own research and due diligence on any company. We do urge you to pay attention to what consumers are saying in their very detailed complaints and reviews and put them side by side with the positive ones to evaluate the quality of authenticity for yourself.

We wish you luck and invite you to take a look at Crixeo’s Best Debt Consolidation Reviews of 2022.

Common Debt Relief Scams

Debt relief scams are a common occurrence, and can be very costly for the victim. These scams often promise to help debtors get out of debt quickly and easily, but in reality they can cause more financial harm than good.

Some common debt relief scams include:

– Charging high fees for services that are available for free or at a much lower cost elsewhere

– Promising to erase debt completely, when in reality the scammers only take a portion of the debt, leaving the debtor with the original amount owed plus interest and penalties

– Claiming to be affiliated with the government or a legitimate debt relief organization when they are not

– Asking for personal information such as Social Security numbers or bank account information upfront

If you are considering debt relief options, be sure to do your research and avoid any schemes that sound too good to be true. There are many legitimate debt relief organizations available, so it is best to consult with one of these organizations before agreeing to any terms with a debt relief scammer.

If you believe you have been scammed, report the incident to the Federal Trade Commission (FTC). The FTC offers a variety of resources on their website about how to protect yourself from debt relief scams, as well as how to report a scam if you have been victim. You can also contact your state Attorney General’s office for help. For more information, visit the FTC website at https://www.ftc.gov/credit/debt-relief.

If you’re considering debt relief, be sure to avoid any schemes that sound too good to be true. There are many legitimate debt relief options available, so it’s best to consult with an experienced professional before agreeing to any terms. If you believe you have been scammed, report the incident to the FTC. The FTC offers a variety of resources on their website about how to protect yourself from debt relief scams, as well as how to report a scam if you have been victimized. You can also contact your state Attorney General’s office for help.

Remember, if something sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Be vigilant about debt relief scams and consult with a trusted organization before making any decisions about your debt.

If you’re considering debt relief, be sure to avoid any schemes that sound too good to be true. There are many legitimate debt relief options available, so it’s best to consult with an experienced professional before agreeing to any terms. If you believe you have been scammed, report the incident to the FTC. The FTC offers a variety of resources on their website about how to protect yourself from debt relief scams, as well as how to report a scam if you have been victimized.

Alleviate Financial Solutions Review
  • Alleviate Financial Solutions
    (2)
2

Alleviate Financial Solutions Review - Advise Caution

Alleviate Financial Solutions is representative of what is plaguing the debt consolidation industry. Direct mail with low rates and bait and switch tactics. We highly recommend doing your own due diligence on Alleviate Financial Solutions before entering into any financial relationship with the company.

Sending
User Review
3.3 (10 votes)